Centro Biblico San Paolo

SOBICAIN / Centro Biblico San Paolo

Un corso di formazione sul Vangelo secondo Marco

Stati Uniti

The season of Easter has “ended” as we celebrated the Solemnity of the Pentecost. The Church calendar now resumes the Ordinary Time, a liturgical season with 33 (or 34) weeks of Ordinary Time containing the rest of Jesus’ earthly ministry and some of the major events of the Gospels we have come to know and love: the miracles, the parables, the calling of the twelve, the sermon on the mount, the bread of life discourse. . . etc. Like all liturgical seasons, Ordinary Time is meant to be lived! We aren’t passive receptors of the liturgy! We are called to be active participants! Participating in Ordinary Time means participating in the everyday life of Jesus. The Catholic Bishops Conference of the US tells us that, “The Sundays and weeks of the Ordinary Time take us through the life of Christ. This is the time of conversion. This is living the life of Christ. Ordinary Time is a time for growth and maturation, a time in which the mystery of Christ is called to penetrate ever more deeply into history until all things are finally caught up in Christ.”

What better way to do this if not to start with a bible study? The Augustine Institute offers an in-depth, follow along at home Bible study on the gospel of St Mark. The program is a 14-part series by Tim Gray that explores the Catholic understanding of the Gospel of Mark through lectio divina. Who was Saint Mark the Evangelist and why is his Gospel so important to the Catholic Church? Combining the insights of Tim Gray with the masterful artistry of the Augustine Institute, this LECTIO series uses the Church’s rich tradition of lectio divina to help you better understand and better pray with the Gospel of Mark.

The Augustine Institute serves the formation of Catholics for the New Evangelization. Through its academic and parish programs, forming equip Catholics intellectually, spiritually, and pastorally to renew the Church and transform the world for Christ.

For those interested to finish the 14-part series, here is the link.

Here is the 1st part of the series:


Chi siamo